Bridges Annual Awards


Starting in 2009, BRIDGES, Inc. began presenting three different awards at the NKY TBI Conference in recognition of an outstanding professional (Lisa Combs Horizon Award), brain injured survivor (Benevolence Award) and a caregiver (Clara B. Hughes Caregiver Award). Criteria and past recipients of the awards are listed below.


Lisa Combs Horizon Award


A professional, paraprofessional, clinician, and/or organization
who has stepped outside of their standards of practice
within their work or community environment
and went above and beyond expectations for the education,
support and/or advocacy of brain injured survivors or caregivers.

Past Recipients: 

Melissa Fisher and HealthSouth NKY Rehabilitation Hospital (2017)
Amy Daniel (2016)
Colleen Gribben (2015)
Bob Stark (2014)
Mindy Ortlieb (2013)
Judy Rouse  (2012)
Jessica Embry & Julie Fronk (2011)
Roger Braden (2010)
Lisa Combs (2009)
Founder of BRIDGES; retired in 2014;
award renamed in her honor

Benevolence Award

Brain Injured Survivor who has exhibited perseverance
in their own recovery. This person demonstrates
a positive attitude and also aids other survivors
in their recovery through
education, support and/or advocacy.

Past Recipients:

Curt Dorsel (2017)
Callie Daniel (2016)
Brad Fritz and Nichole Ortlieb (2015)
Todd Franzen (2014)
Sam Christman (2013)
Tracey Truby (2012)
Tommy Perry (2011)
Tava Schutter (2010)
Lisa Wilson (2009)
(and Will, Lisa's Service Dog)

Clara B. Hughes Caregiver Award

A caregiver who has shown devotion and dedication,
 not only to their beloved brain injury survivor,
but also to other survivors and caregivers
by performing unselfish acts of kindness
while encouraging the education,
support, and/or advocacy of the survivor.

Past Recipients:

Carlee Clark (2017)
Chris Christman & Lisa Wade (2016)
Russo Family (2015)
Amy Daniel (2014)
Bernard Family (2013)
Amy Christman (2012)
Joyce Ortlieb (2011)
Mike Schutter (2010)
Colleen Gribben (2009)

Website Builder